Work, Warm, Video

I was at work. My patient had a friend with her and seemed to be a tough nut to crack. I kept trying to make conversation with her, but she was awkwardly quiet and her face gave nothing away. Finally, I just gave up and finished my work. Before I went to go get my doctor for an exam, I told her that I was jealous of her hair which was cut really short because mine was too long and I needed a haircut. I knew that she couldn’t see my hair under my head covering, but you can see enough to know that I don’t have long hair. I was standing up to leave when I saw her not only smile but her cheeks tinged rosy. As I was back there waiting for him and watching the hectic hullabaloo, he came up and asked me if I was feeling warm because he was. I was like, uh oh! Did he have a fever? Then he left to go do the exam and I was left there thinking about how the office might have to shut down if he couldn’t work. Also, if he was feeling that way were others feeling the same?

I went back to join him in my op. He was checking her. As soon as he turned to talk to me, though, somehow the patient suddenly had her friend in the chair and was working on her! We both looked at each other. My boss shrugged and left. I was left wondering what to do. I approached them, trying to make light of the situation. This time both were quite talkative. My original patient got up for me to sit down and do my job as I guess the friend was my next patient?

We were talking jovially together and there was a TV going on in the background. I could hear/see a commercial in particular that featured an old, catchy song. I laughed and told them that I love that music video and was surprised that they were showing it on TV! The two of them giggled and in unison said, “Nickelodeon.” Then the visuals from the music video popped up like I was watching them on a mobile device. I kept playing it back and forth and then it was like I was watching the video in a little paperback book that played videos. You turned the page when the next segment of the video started. I began to doodle absently on it, lines around the video itself while listening to the others talk. My fine tipped sharpie kept trailing off and I had to keep redoing the line. It didn’t matter whether it was straight or not, but it mattered to me. Overall, I was just happy, and warm in the spring brightness.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.