Survival game, doors, cat, water, house

I was with a female. Some stuff happened, we were wandering around and we end up in this brick/stone chamber with a shallow (I think) pool of water covering most of the floor. There is a small ledge to walk around it to an exit, but everything appears stagnant and slick. The water itself isn’t the cleanest. I hop and pick my way around it, in and out of the several exits, but we keep coming back into the room. At some point it takes the place of the TV room in the house I grew up in. I leave then come back to find that the narrow walkway is now covered with large black trash bags, and my partner is perplexed because she has a dish she’s trying to wash but the water is too dirty and she’s afraid of it. I’m slightly annoyed by this and offer to get her water from the sink in the bathroom just across the hallway, but she’s adamant that it must come from the water there. I shrug because she knows magic and I don’t. I grab some object and start moving the water in the floor basin around. It’s red which I hadn’t noticed before, and I comment that it looks like blood. Though I’m chuckling about my minor joke, assuming it’s just the coloring of the bacteria in the water, her face isn’t amused at all and it shuts me up. Some moments pass, I make my way (somehow) over to the other side of the pool only to see Cora with her nose near the water. It’s too dim to tell if she’s drinking it or just smelling it, but I scold her and she looks at me like, “what?”

I convince my partner to leave with me to the rest of the house. Once we leave the chamber, a man with the nametag Atkinson shows up and accompanies my partner away. I check out the sewing room and see another man with the nametag Atkinson. He accompanies me away now, towards our respective partners, and we make our way through the rest of the house.

Some stuff about the upstairs.

We walk through another door which sends us into another world. Things are strange there, the world not acting like it should. I wander around the kitchen there with stone floors and wooden walls. There are 2 women doing things and not acknowledging our presence. I see a shelf that has cats on every level. Fat kitties. Someone starts warning me about the cats when I see the one on the very top looking a little woozy. I looks at me and I reassure it that I’ll catch it, then it starts to fall. I catch the big cream-colored fuzzy marshmallow, then the orange cat 2 shelves down topples, too. I also catch that one and now I’m cradling 2 fat kitties. They’re soft and warm and doze happily in my arms. I turn back around to my partner smiling. Something happens that I don’t remember.

Then, I’m with a large group of people. It’s dark and we’re being herded somewhere. There’s a strong sense of urgency. I’m a little worried but keep moving. Suddenly, we’re walking on water towards some seemingly powerful entities! I have a strong feeling like they’re Gods or at least on a Titan level. The leader on the human side warns everyone not to look down, but of course I do just that. I’m being supported by jets of water and the powerful entities are being kept from us by a void-moat surrounding their own jets of water. I look down into the depthless fathoms and feel fear. Consumed by my thoughts, I don’t hear what they’re saying, and then suddenly I’m running along with everyone else while a woman who is clearly running the show gives us a rundown of what is happening. We’re in a competition for our lives. Everyone is assigned a partner. Together you must survive and make it all the way to the top. Only 2 people, so 1 team can win, so you must work together to survive the ordeal. The trial round will eliminate 4 players, before starting the real tournament for your life.

I’m near the front behind a slim young woman with soft blonde hair in a braid. Her face shares the same expression as mine: shock, fear, and determination. She reaches the glowing circle first, then takes off for the elevator. I reach it next and large text pops up asking me to confirm our partnership. Given that I know no one else, and that time is off the essence, and that she’s clearly a top performer, I immediately hit Confirm. I race over to her. A cursory glance at the “elevator” shows that she and I need to grab onto the small ledge which will pull us up. I grab onto the small ledge, my hand next to hers. The machine starts moving, but it’s so slow! The others have arrived and latch on underneath of us. My partner and I share a wordless look, agreeing silently with each other. The next level we need to reach is impossibly high above us. As projectiles start firing and the remaining contestants vie for the bottom spots by knocking off other players, I grab onto my partner with my free hand and legs to both shield and hold us together lest we fall. Not a single person in the slowly rising column of people speak, all of us trying hard not to see or hear what is happening to the stragglers below, nor think about what we must do above.

After what seems an eternity, I see the hole that signals that we’ve made it to the real battleground. I reach up and haul myself through the hole (because the damn elevator is so slow) as does my partner. Weapons and gear appear on our bodies, and with one last nod at each other, we split up. It seems that we’re doing a laser tag of sorts. High on the wall or perhaps projected into the air are images of the contestant faces with our teammates and a running tab of how many lives we have remaining. I go around solemnly firing my small arrows at the orange targets everyone has on their backs. My accuracy is good. Quickly, however, I come across a rather tall and robust (in the build sense, not fat) female who rubs me the wrong way. There’s something wrong with her and her partner. I want to warn my own partner but there’s no way to communicate with someone on the other side of the area. I decide that I want to eliminate her as quickly as possible. She’s cocky, arrogant, and seems to know something we don’t. She’s at her last life because of me, when all of the sudden the target on her back disappears. She’s cheating! How?? She laughs at me, and I race away from her lest she hunts me down, desperately trying to find my partner all the while dodging other players. I run into my partner at the end point where we would try to ascend to the goal after defeating enough players. We’re not done yet, but it seems that she’s also been the target of my enemy’s partner who is also cheating. Why are they gunning for us in particular? The announcer/leader of the event is standing there, smiling innocently. I pull her into a little room off to the side away from the projectiles and hurriedly try to tell her about how the others are cheating. My partner listens, silently agreeing. The announcer titters in her God-like voice, looks at my partner and me and says provocatively, “You can, too.” She pulls my partner forward into her arms and starts to seductively remove her gear? Clothing? I am aghast at this turn of events and don’t know what to do! I have to save my partner, but what can I do against a demi-god? Also, is the game rigged? Is it all a test? Without my partner I am doomed to fail the game! I’m watching my blonde partner, unsure of my next action when I simultaneously see my enemy approaching, a huge leering smile on her face, and my partner begging me for help with her eyes.

I don’t know what my decision is, just that I continue to fight against others in my struggle to survive, except that it’s no longer a game, and that deception is a means to an end. Just as answers and a resolution start to arise, I wake up.