Driving

I had a restless night, so there were many weird dreams, but I only remember a small bit.

I was in the house the grew up in. There was something about the attic and wandering around the wooded neighborhood.

I was at work or somewhere and it was lunchtime. 1pm. I went to go check what I’d brought for lunch and it turns out I’d brought a bunch of fruit, meaning I can’t actually eat it at work. There was one lady unfamiliar to me who came from Europe and was talking to my coworker. I sat on the sofa there, ready to get on my phone, when she turned to me and asked if I’d ever been to Ukrops. I said yes, but in my head registered that Ukrops has been out of the game for many years now. She asked me if I’d ever been a Ukrops with a “market” meaning an outdoor eating place, and if I have, then was it always super crowded. The way she said it implied that they were ubiquitous where she came from. I said no initially, wracking my brain, but then a sudden memory hit me of a really nice, large Ukrops with an outdoor seating area smack in the middle of the store. And it had been crazy crowded. I changed my answer to yes and she nodded knowingly.

Then someone asked me about a friend of theirs who had a dilemma. They loved and worked in one town but their friend lived in another town 1 hour away. Friend A was adamant about every day getting to Friend B’s house by 8pm after work. The person wanted to know if I had a better solution. My solution was to either move there, get a new job, or just wait for the weekend. I looked it up on Google Maps and it was based in mid-west Virginia. According to the road system, it shouldn’t have been that far away given the hop onto a big freeway. Cut scene to being in a small sedan at night. For whatever reason, I was driving out to pick her up?? Some time passes and not only does Friend A get in the passenger seat, but Friend B gets into the driver’s seat. I’m planted firmly behind the driver’s seat, while for some reason my mom jams herself into the front passenger seat with Friend A. At first I don’t really register anything weird because I’m wondering on Friend A and B’s friend status… Friend B mentioned that she has kids but they’re awfully and strangely close for just friends… After a bit, I notice the thing with the seats, and comment. Nothing comes out of it. Then all of the sudden Friend A started flipping out in the passenger’s seat saying she can’t breathe. Friend B freaks out too, not sure where or go or what to do. I assess the situation and realize she’s having an asthma attack. With nothing around to help, she really just needs to relax and let it play through. She’s not turning blue or anything. I count down 3, 2, 1 in my head and boom, my mom grabs her face cartoon-style, and tells her forcefully to calm down and stop it. To breathe. Breaths in and out. Both friends are so surprised everything gets calm immediately and the attack passes after a few minutes.

Morning is coming as we continue along the windy, mountainous road. Just as I’m wondering what will happen once we arrive at our destination in regards to Friend B, suddenly there’s a boar on the path! My brother, who is now driving, veers around it down the slope. I am scared, but we end up back on the road somehow. Then another boar in the road! This time, he slows the car down and manages to squeeze around it without incident. I just want off the ride at this point, but we’re still at least 1 hour away from the closest city.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.