Driving, Work

There was some stuff about driving around town, but town was a series of windy roads that were actually vertical? It was extremely confusing, and I kept getting lost in the twists and turns only to end up opposite of where I was trying to go. Eventually, I got to my destination which started out in a small town/city where it was Christmas. I was walking by some houses and through the windows could see what everyone was doing. One house in particular had about 20 people sitting around in Santa hats singing carols together. Other homes were simpler.

Then I was in a camp? Like a summer camp kind of place where I was at odds with the director of the program. I was hanging out in the office doorway probably in trouble again and plotting my escape from the place. I did manage to leave and turned around to see that I had somehow become the director, myself. There was a large event, and I was needed to run it. Like right then and there. Completely unprepared and overwhelmed, I tried my best despite the rain.

Then I was at work. At first it was just me wandering around the unfamiliar office. The place was a square, with the operatories ringing the middle where the waiting room/labs sat. It all seemed really cozy and spacious. My boss and I were worried about our next patients. He was seeing one of the two partners, but his was a patient I had seen the time before and, man, she had been a doozy. Unfortunately for me, I was tasked with seeing her partner who seemed to be a…challenge to say the least. Time came and I brought my patient back. She was extremely nervous. I talked to her like any new patient, getting her history, going over medical stuff, sizing her up, etc. I was getting agitated because she seemed excessively fearful and obnoxious. I stepped away for a bit to get some air and clear my head before coming back. I ended up walking by my boss who was seeing the other patient. She waved happily at me, and I caught a little bit of what they were talking about. I mentioned to my doc that if he wanted to know more about Ursala that he should just check my notes from before because I had it all written down and through there. He gave me a weird look and waved me off, which left me needing to head back to my patient. At that point I only had about 35 minutes left to do anything. I returned to her and let her know that we’d go ahead and get started. I turned to put on my gloves and by the time I turned back around, I saw, to my horror, that there was line of yellow liquid trailing from where she’d been standing at the window onto the couch where she perched like a bird. She shrieked that the liquid had been there already, but I knew better and could actually see from how she was squatting that the underside of her pants were wet. No doubt she was still peeing. I picked up a bath towel, folded it, and gently asked her to sit on it while I did the examination. She screamed that I was being incredibly demeaning to her, so, no, she wouldn’t sit down. Instead, she got up and started trying to sit on any place but where she’d soiled. I told her I needed her to get back on the couch because that was the only chair in the room where she could recline so that I could work properly. While rambling, she walked out of the room and eventually made her way to my original operatory which I had been saving for the next patient because I knew I’d be going over the time with her. OKAY then, I guess the operatory chairs are a ton easier to clean off. She plopped herself down on it eventhough it was set really high up, so I just went with it. I adjusted the seat, went to get my mask, my clinic jacket, and by the time I returned, another clinician was there seeing her. I think it might have been another doctor–a tall female with straight brown hair I didn’t recognize, but the office was large enough for several doctors. The annoying lady was quiet and acquiescing, so I didn’t sweat it and turned away to go do something else. Let someone else break their hands. That’s the type of patient I don’t want liking me, anyways.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.