Dog, Vet

Some stuff. Then I was super hot and couldn’t sleep well.

I took Cora to the bet because she didn’t seem to be feeling very well. Lethargic, coughy, just not well. It was the weekend or a day I was off of work and eager to get going with the free time. Well, I took her over quickly, early in the morning. The vet office was inside the covered patio of a house. The vet looked a lot like Dr. Oakley from the TV show, but I knew she wasn’t Dr. Oakley. With her were 2 assistants/techs. The doctor took Cora to the back portion. As I stood around waiting, I took in the place which really did look like someone’s covered patio with the gardening tools, bags of soil, and various other patio-related things. The doctor came back and told me it would be a bit while they watched her. I asked if I could help with anything since I had nothing better to do (or place to sit). They happily accepted, so I got to work helping out. The other two assistants never really spoke much to me or spoke at all, really. I figured that they just found the situation really awkward. I, myself, was ecstatic because I’d always wanted to work in a veterinary office! They got me polishing with a rubber cup some dogs. I guess that’s the version of bathing them. Well, it was right up my alley, so I carefully polished/cleaned the dogs. One was a small white terrier and the soap I was polishing on was brown like poop. I laughed to myself as I cleaned, then when I went to rinse it off, it ran away! While the dog ran around, I took the opportunity to connect the hose with a nozzle to faster and better rinse the dogs. Since the hose was already on, I used one hand to kink it first, but I have small hands. I asked one of the assistants to help me screw the nozzle on. She came over but was extremely nervous to be in that close proximity to me and for the life of her could not screw it on. Eventually, I did it myself. That’s when I saw Cora running around, too. She peed on the floor and then ran off. I saw that there were some poops, too. No matter, I had the nozzled hose now, so I turned it to Jet and sprayed the poop towards the outside area. Then it was hosing off the pee which was already drying.

By the time I was done, I noticed that it was 1pm. Not only that, but I was tired. The vet no longer looked like Dr. Oakley, but some other lady. She gathered the 3 of us up and started giving us a gameplan for the rest of the day. While I had enjoyed my time there, I was not a worker and did not want to be spoken to like the way she was. I decided to humor her for a little while I figured out how to leave and go home. We tromped through the house to get something from inside of it to carry out. When we came out, I decided to just tell her that I was going home. When I did, she looked at me with pure disappointment, saying that when she’d laid eyes on me that morning, she knew that I would be the perfect match for the practice. However, if I wanted to leave, she had no way of stopping me. She then explained that there were two teams in the vet office and that the other team (the outdoor team making house calls I guess) had the vast majority of the help while she only had 2 assistants. I smiled and went to the back to get Cora who was napping. Then I left. I could feel the daggers in my back as I exited. It was dusk outside already! The outdoor team was having a great time with the grill, playing basketball, listening to music, and talking loudly. I walked through them and went home.

Later, I was at some place and the vet was there, complaining about me leaving the other day. I was whispering to anyone who would listen about how I wasn’t even paid yet was expected to do so much work.

3 thoughts on “Dog, Vet

  1. Your post kept me hooked until the end. The suspense and surprise factor made it a great read. I hope Cora is feeling better now. Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

  2. Your story is touching, and it’s amazing how much a puppy can impact our lives positively. Thank you for sharing your experience and the lessons you’ve learned from your poodle. It’s inspiring to see how they can help us heal and live better lives.

  3. Wow, what an interesting experience at the vet! It must have been quite a sight to see the vet office inside a covered patio. Your description of the place with gardening tools and patio-related items really painted a vivid picture. It’s great to hear that you offered to help while waiting, showing your willingness to lend a hand. Thank you for sharing this unique story, it was an enjoyable read.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.