Mom, sister, work, phone, asian

It’s amazing exactly how much I forget within an hour of waking up. The mind gets distracted and WHAM. I’ll sort of recall them again, but never in as much detail.

After some things happened, I invited my mom to come with me to a new large Asian market that opened where we lived (not here. The area didn’t have any real Asian markets so this was awesome). The way it was set up was a large building with outdoor space and indoor space where vendors could rent and set up their wares. I came first because I wanted to get a head start on the crowds. As I start looking around I see my sister there and so we walk around. It was too early so not all the vendors had shown up yet. Finally spotted my mom and we found ourselves in a cordoned off area. Everyone was speaking Chinese (Cantonese as I surmised in the dream) and my sister disclosed to us that they don’t like other people other than Chinese here, but we’re OK because she works there as a secretary, so we can go wherever. She runs off to get back to her post and my mom and I decide not to cause problems so we leave, but not before I notice other races lounging around. We end up in an actual mall with Asian stores. My mom is studying some stuff at a kiosk and I point out a gift shop we should go to next. This man starts speaking loudly in our language that she (referring to me) is old enough to go into a store without her mom! And on and on and on. We both pretend we don’t speak or understand what he’s saying and wander into the store next to the gift shop. My mom starts looking through stuff and decides to buy 2 little trinket. She tries to swipe her card in the machine like it was a self checkout and then a line starts forming behind her, but it’s not a self-checkout thing at all, so the clerk finally rings her up. By the time we leave the store, the gift shop is closed for lunch and I am sad. We wander around the mall a bit and my mom points out things that she thought I was looking for, but I want in that gift shop! Then I notice some kids have left an adorable pad of paper on some stuff. They are nowhere to be found so I decide to take it. I start tearing out the pages they drew or wrote on but as I start tearing, I realize it’s the entire pad of paper, so I stop tearing and we leave. I am sad.

I am not working even though it is a normal work day, so I decide that my mom should use the opportunity to get her filling appointment done so that I can take her. I’m planning and deciding and trying to message my coworkers. We end up in the house I left when I lived South and it is empty aside from a few essentials like we were staying there for a little. We were walking around taking stock of what had changed and I walked into the upstairs master bathroom. It’s white and clean, just like it used to be. I look in the shower and there’s a pedestal sink in it right below the towel bar which is apparently completely normal to a dream. Then one of my coworkers shows me an image of the schedule and I see that there is indeed an opening! So I grab my mom and we start heading there because it will take an hour to drive there so we need to leave now. In the meantime I’m trying to get in touch with the front desk to be sure that there is indeed an opening. No response to messages, so I try to call, but I call her cell phone by accident and all I can hear is her talking to patients in the background. I end the call and try to call the office number but I have the hardest time getting the number correctly into my phone. Fat fingers, I even try to draw it out for the phone, and no matter what I do the call can’t be completed because I’ve attempted too many times. It doesn’t matter because we’re already there! I don’t even recognize the building. So we get in and it’s hopping. Front desk has gone somewhere and my doctor is swamped with patients. I tell him hi and that my mom is here for fillings. He apologizes and says that he refused to pick up the phone because he didn’t want to deal with anymore insurance problems. I walk my mom to the back and for some reason my friend has come with us. There are all sorts of chairs and beds and stuff. My practice has indeed grown and for some reason now deals with intensive care? Is that a new born hooked up to a machine? Enough beds to keep people there over night! Two patients are already there, one on a dental chair waiting and the other is on a table having his blood pressure taken in anticipation of something. I’m just waiting for an assistant to come put my mom somewhere and then I wake up.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, work

Leave a Reply

